Aal around Aalborg: back and better than ever!

Posted on Updated on

And so I return from a very long hiatus – unplanned, to be sure, but necessary. Last week I had the pleasure of talking with two of Aalborg Library’s strongest advocates for helping international residents, who have been staying up-to-date on what’s happening in Aalborg, where the pressure points are, and which topics could be useful to my readers. My events posts were at the top of the list – and I promised I’d be back this week. So here I am!

One of the things I’ve wanted to do since I started the events series is to develop it around a calendar – with individual listings within the calendar entries. WordPress has upgraded their offerings since I last blogged and so I have been able to embed the Google calendar for Aal around Aalborg directly into a page (Events Calendar). But because this is the first time I’m using it like this, I have also embedded it directly below. It looks crowded – I freely acknowledge this. In addition, while this is not optimised for mobile phone viewing directly from the blog, if you use Google calendars, you can import the Aal around Aalborg calendar and see it through your calendar app. If you click on the “Agenda” tab in the top right-hand corner of the calendar, the separate entries are much easier to see. If you click on an individual entry, you will see the location of the event as well as text describing it and – crucially – whether it is free of charge or there is a price of admission. Almost all events I’ve posted for this weekend are free (if you count the shopping ones and don’t buy anything)…

I have done this to make it easier to have an overview of the different activities and happenings in Aalborg and to add events as they come to my attention. But I would be happy to go back to my previous format (text based in chronological order) if I get enough readers asking for that. Please let me know what you think! And enjoy perusing the many happenings in Aalborg this three-day weekend.

4 thoughts on “Aal around Aalborg: back and better than ever!

    Marius Mikučionis said:
    June 2, 2017 at 1:34 pm

    Maybe it is not viewable on a phone, but I have added your calendar and now I can choose any view anytime, yay!
    Thanks!!

      sarahinjylland responded:
      June 2, 2017 at 3:41 pm

      Great to hear, Marius. I hadn’t thought about that extra bonus for people who use Google calendars. 😊

    lauraiacolina said:
    June 3, 2017 at 12:32 pm

    It’s great from the computer, but doesn’t work that well from the phone. However, if you use Google calendar you can always import it

      sarahinjylland responded:
      June 3, 2017 at 2:35 pm

      What a great tip, Laura – thank you!

Leave a Reply

