Life in Aalborg turns one – special contest to mark the anniversary!

Posted on Updated on

First birthdayA year has passed since I published my first post on this blog. When I sent that post out into cyberspace, I had no idea what to expect from the blogging experience. In fact, I worried a bit about whether I’d remain motivated enough to stick with it and/or find enough material to keep the site interesting. With that year behind me now, however, I can say unequivocally that I’m glad I took the leap. I derive a lot of satisfaction from researching and writing the posts, I have learned a LOT about living in Denmark and Aalborg in the process, and I have opened doors to opportunities I did not know existed beforehand – like being on a steering group formed to plan activities for the international community in Aalborg. And yet…

I still have a list a mile long of topics that I think could be of interest to readers. But it is a bit overwhelming to figure out how to tackle that list. So given that it’s my one year anniversary, I thought I would ask those of you to whom this blog matters: what do you like about this blog and what would you like to hear more about? I can see from my stats which topics are ‘hottest,’ and they include the post about the blue health insurance card for traveling in Europe, learning Danish in Aalborg, and the dual citizenship law (in that order). What else would be of use? Of interest?

20141202_160621To entice you to respond, I’m offering a little incentive: a 100 kr. gift card (good for two years) at Penny Lane, one of the most charming cafés in Aalborg, in my opinion. All who comment on this post by this Friday, 5 December 2014 at 17:00 will be automatically entered in a drawing to win the gift card. I will number each comment and use an online random number generator to pick the winner. So please take a minute to answer the following:20141202_153317

  • What information have you found most useful/interesting on the blog?
  • What topics would you like me to include in the future?

Don’t forget to include your first name and last initial so when I announce the winner you’ll know if it is you! And if you are not from Aalborg but would still like to comment, please feel free. Just include the fact so I don’t enter you in the drawing – the gift card is really only useful to someone who lives here. 🙂

23 thoughts on “Life in Aalborg turns one – special contest to mark the anniversary!

    Marisol said:
    December 2, 2014 at 6:41 pm

    Hi Sarah, congratulations on your one year anniversary.
    I love how you gather all info that normally would be dispersed in all sorts of mediums.
    I specifically remember the summer post about bee keeping. Even though I couldn’t attend I was grateful for the info and I will keep an eye for it again in 2015.
    In the same vain, more events or activities in nature would be great.
    Thanks again.

      sarahinjylland responded:
      December 2, 2014 at 7:41 pm

      Thanks, Marisol. I appreciate your input. And I will include more nature-related events! I’ve left them out lately, mainly because I was distracted by other things and I didn’t know whether people cared. Now I know that at least you do! 🙂

    Kristen Christiansen said:
    December 2, 2014 at 7:46 pm

    I wold love to see a blog on how to job hunt/places to go and companies to look at. I’ve been hunting and am coming up short. Also, maybe a blog on how to go back to school here if one needs to do that. University is really different here than in the States.

      sarahinjylland responded:
      December 2, 2014 at 7:50 pm

      Thanks, Kristen. As I said on FB, I agree that this is of extreme importance. I think I’ve been putting it off because it feels so overwhelming: I, too, have been job searching here, so far to no avail. But I’m moving this up on my list – hope to tackle it shortly after the new year. I may ask you a couple questions, actually, on your experience to add to the post…

        Kristen Christiansen said:
        December 2, 2014 at 7:51 pm

        Ask away! 😀 I’m an attorney from the states trying to find something similiar here and so far no luck. Also, keeping my fingers crossed for a PhD opening at the university law school.

    nicomorelli said:
    December 2, 2014 at 8:29 pm

    Hi Sarah, first of all congratulations on your first year. After one year I think you are already quite popular. I think the reason for the success of your blog is the fact that it includes all the relevant information on Aalborg, from whatever people may need when moving to Aalborg to cultural event. I use the cultural event part, just to keep informed, as I usually miss all of them because I am disorganised. As you know I referred to your page from our platform, to give information about Aalborg to our Neighbours. I do not know what you could add, perhaps some special movies (not the ones you can see in the main cinemas) that cinemas are giving for a short time. I found that sometimes Biffen has really nice movies, those I would not like to miss, but for a very short time. But anyway what you tell us in every post is also very interesting…

      sarahinjylland responded:
      December 2, 2014 at 8:35 pm

      Thank you so much for your feedback, Nicola. I will make a note to check out Biffen’s website when I do my Recent & Upcoming post each week. And I hope My Neighborhood takes off – I think it’s a really sound, thoughtful initiative… 🙂

    Anne Reimo said:
    December 2, 2014 at 10:43 pm

    Hello!
    Congrats on the 1st anniversary! You are having the most important blog of my life at the moment, as I am new in Aalborg (been here for only few months) this is the place, where I find most of the events to my interests and most of my friends wonder already, how i am so well informed 😀 So of course i have spread the word! Well for me the most interesting are the posts about farmers markets, food markets, free concerts, dancing information and other events, taking place in Aalborg. Just keep that line going! And maybe you could add some stuff about laws in Denmark. Like what time should the bike lights be turned on and what to do when your employer does not want to give me my hardly earned money – for example.
    Greetings,
    Anne R.

      sarahinjylland responded:
      December 2, 2014 at 10:49 pm

      Hi Anna – I really appreciate your comment. It helps to know what interests you, what you’re paying attention to. So I will be sure to keep writing about these things. 🙂 As for laws on bike lights, employment-related issues, and so forth, I will keep this in mind and try to address it in the near future. Thanks for the tips!

    Deb said:
    December 2, 2014 at 10:46 pm

    Hi Sarah, Congratulations! So far you have done a very good job by blogging latest information in Aalborg or Denmark as a whole. My suggestion could be a “your question – My answer” titled sorts of discussion area where reader could post their questions about any topics and that answer can be helpful to everyone even who has not asked this question. Good luck.

      sarahinjylland responded:
      December 2, 2014 at 10:51 pm

      Hi Deb – This is a great idea! I have to think how best to implement the suggestion but I really like it in principle. Thanks very much! 🙂

    Miao said:
    December 3, 2014 at 9:39 am

    Hi Sarah,
    Congrats to the very nice blog here! I can imagine that you must have invest a lot of effort and energy to keep maintaining it as an active and popular website. Today so many people love it and benefit from it, which would be a great reward to you I guess 🙂
    My suggestion is to add a discussion area, and be divided to different modules. Then people who has experience with certain topic can answer volunteerly and it could also be easily tracked.
    Again, thanks for your contribution and wish another year of success with Life in aalborg!

      sarahinjylland responded:
      December 3, 2014 at 10:08 am

      Hi Miao – Thank you very much for your comment and suggestions. A previous commenter recommended the same ‘discussion’ section, so I have to think hard about how I could incorporate this into the blog. I appreciate your ideas! 🙂

    Bailey said:
    December 3, 2014 at 10:33 am

    Congrats on the anniversary!! I’m so happy that you make a write up for the weekend event schedule, it makes going out all that much more enticing (especially in these winter months, it’s nice to get out of the house for something fun!). I’d love to hear more about how to approach getting an internship like the one you have, and how the university system works for expats (though I don’t remember if you’ve been through the university here…).
    Keep being awesome!

      sarahinjylland responded:
      December 3, 2014 at 10:38 am

      Thanks, Bailey, for both the encouragement and suggestions. You are the second to ask about a post on getting a job and/or internship as well as one on going to university. So that moves those two even further up the list. I appreciate your support! 🙂

    Vijay K said:
    December 4, 2014 at 11:59 am

    Hi Sarah, congratulations on completion of one year of this lively blog about Life in Aalborg. I heard from acquaintances, colleagues and few friends that life in this city is not that exciting. But, I ask them to read this blog and tell me again if they still think the same. The blog has certainly enhanced the outlook, but also the involvement of so many different kind of events that takes place in and around Aalborg.
    Thank you so much for the effort you put in gathering this diverse information in a timely manner and keeping it’s residents more happy :-).

    All the best and may you celebrate more such anniversaries.

      sarahinjylland responded:
      December 4, 2014 at 3:08 pm

      Thanks so much, Vijay. One of the biggest benefits for me is that I stay up to date on events myself! And I have developed a greater appreciation for the city than I had at the beginning of our stay here. I am glad it is helpful to you – keep reading, please! 🙂

    Gergana Kurukyuvlieva said:
    December 4, 2014 at 2:19 pm

    First time I came in Aalborg in July to spend the summer with my boyfriend :). I had great luck to find your blog and since there I bookmarked it, and because of it, we had really good time exploring all the festivals, exhibitions and culture, happening around us. 🙂 I loved Denmark’s International Street Theater Festival , the best street theater I’ve ever seen. We had a lot of fun because both days of the festival they took my boyfriend on the stage in front of everyone and made him part of the theater. For me the section with the upcoming events is most useful, it will be great if you include a gallery with photos from the events, for everyone who missed them. I am studying photography and have made lots of photos that you can use in your blog, if you like – https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.783001478404391.1073741876.100000836373579&type=1&l=b7f02de747 🙂 I will be happy to collaborate. I found out that Aalborg is interesting city, and now I am back here to spend my Christmas vacation.

      sarahinjylland responded:
      December 4, 2014 at 3:10 pm

      Thank you, Gergana. I’m glad to hear you like the Recent & Upcoming series. And I like the idea of posting photos post-event. The only trouble is that I get to very few myself – but I could definitely post more pictures from those I do attend! Thanks for offering to use yours – I will let you know if I do. Have a good Christmas! 🙂

    Antonia said:
    December 4, 2014 at 4:50 pm

    Congratulations, Sarah! I think you are doing a very helpful job for all of us. :). We’re in debt to you!. Thank you.

    Antonia.

      sarahinjylland responded:
      December 4, 2014 at 7:40 pm

      Hi Antonia – Thank you very much for your comment. It means a lot! 🙂

    Karolina said:
    December 5, 2014 at 12:58 pm

    Congrats on one year anniversary! Your blog is great, and helped me a lot to “make friend” with Aalborg and get to know all the interesting stuff that is happening here 🙂 Other cities are really missing something like this too! The life in Denmark would be much more interesting :))

      sarahinjylland responded:
      December 5, 2014 at 1:25 pm

      Hey Karolina – Thanks! I’m glad you have gotten to like Aalborg more through the blog. I have, too, to be honest. Enjoy the upcoming events and Christmas season!

Leave a Reply

